Poem: On The Bus

I search the crowded bus for the schoolgirl

People shoulder to shoulder

Most soaked through from the teeming rain outside

I want to catch her before that moment

On that curve in the road just after the university

In that jolt that brings the first unwanted contact 

That she questioned but dismissed

Nevertheless, her body tensed  

As the rain outside became drizzle

Mirroring the steamy windows that entomb the travellers

Her unease had quickened with every turn 

She feels the warmth of his thigh against hers – too close

She tells herself it is the normal contact of passengers sharing a seat.

She imagines his face as he unfolds the broadsheet

A purposeful manoeuvre

I reach through and hold her for a second, but she doesn’t know it

I want to take her away to this space on the same bus in a different time

To the distancing and face coverings

His hand would not reach her here

But I am afraid that she will sense the burdens 

The consultant who will abuse her

The mugger on the train, the stalker on another

The multiple sinister steps behind her in the dark

The incessant catcalling

The threats

The flashers

The carrying on when she thought she’d said no

The never-ending violence of it

The unjust fear 

I want to load her up with power not foreboding

And so I leave me there on that bus

As it made that turn and his hand groped around under the newspaper

Because her rebuke was good enough

And the little bit of control that she grasped

Amongst the chaos of distress in her young body

Would serve her well.

Skip to toolbar